Banknote Book & CPG® PRICE GUIDE

About British Guiana

The Dutch colonies of Berbice, Demerary (Demerara), and Essequebo (Essequibo) were captured by the British during the Napoleonic wars in 1796, returned to the Dutch Batavian Republic in 1802, recaptured by the British in 1803, officially ceded to the United Kingdom in 1814, and consolidated into the single colony of British Guiana (now Guyana) on 21 July 1831.


Government of British Guiana

See Details

Visit these great CDN Sponsors