Back button

Banknote Book & CPG® PRICE GUIDE

About French Equatorial Africa

The area north of the Congo River came under French sovereignty in 1880 and was originally known as French Congo. In 1903, the colony’s name was officially changed to Middle Congo. Established on 15 January 1910, the Afrique Équatoriale Française (French Equatorial Africa, AEF), was the federation of five French colonial possessions in Central Africa: French Congo, Gabon, Oubangui-Chari (present day Central African Republic), Chad, and French Cameroon (after World War I), although the last was not organized as a separate entity until 1920. The Governor-General was based in Brazzaville with deputies in each territory.

Visit these great CDN Sponsors

CDN Sponsors

Related Stories (powered by Greysheet News)

View all news