Back button

Banknote Book & CPG® PRICE GUIDE

About Hawaii

Hawaii is one of four U.S. states — apart from the original thirteen, along with the Vermont Republic (1791), the Republic of Texas (1845), and the California Republic (1846) — that were independent nations prior to statehood. Along with Texas, Hawaii had formal, international diplomatic recognition as a nation. The sovereign Kingdom of Hawaii was established in 1795 by King Kamehameha the Great. Kamehameha II inherited the throne in 1819, followed by Kamehameha III in 1825, Kamehameha IV in 1855, Kamehameha V in 1863, Lunalilo in 1873, Kalākaua in 1874, and Liliuokalani in 1891. The monarchy was overthrown in 1893.

World Currency / Hawaii
Department of Finance

Visit these great CDN Sponsors

CDN Sponsors

Related Stories (powered by Greysheet News)

View all news