Back button

Banknote Book & CPG® PRICE GUIDE

About Mauritius

After the Dutch abandoned the Indian Ocean Isle of Mauritius, in September 1715 it became a French colony named Isle de France (Île de France in modern French) administered by the French East India Company. In the Treaty of Paris of 1814, France ceded to the United Kingdom the Isle de France and its territories, including Agaléga, Chagos Archipelago, Cargados Carajos, Rodrigues, Seychelles, and Tromelin. The island then reverted to its former name, Mauritius.

Visit these great CDN Sponsors

CDN Sponsors

Related Stories (powered by Greysheet News)

View all news