Back button

Banknote Book & CPG® PRICE GUIDE

About New Zealand

In 1840, representatives of the United Kingdom and Maori chiefs signed the Treaty of Waitangi, which declared British sovereignty over the islands. In 1841, New Zealand became a colony within the British Empire. Subsequently, a series of conflicts between the colonial government and Maori tribes resulted in the alienation and confiscation of large amounts of Maori land. New Zealand became a dominion in 1907, and gained full statutory independence in 1947, retaining the monarch as head of state.

World Currency / New Zealand
Reserve Bank of New Zealand

Visit these great CDN Sponsors

CDN Sponsors