press release icon

PRESS RELEASE: PNG Calls For 2017 Award Nominations

by CDN Publishing

Published on February 14, 2017

main image for PRESS RELEASE: PNG Calls For 2017 Award Nominations
Click image to enlarge.

Temecula, California)—Nominations now are being accepted for the 2017 Professional Numismatists Guild awards, according to PNG Executive Director Rob

  • download the app
    Download the Greysheet app for access to pricing, news, events and your subscriptions.

Temecula, California)—Nominations now are being accepted for the 2017 Professional Numismatists Guild awards, according to PNG Executive Director Robert Brueggeman and President Dana Samuelson.

Each year the PNG publicly recognizes outstanding achievements in the hobby and the profession by honoring deserving recipients with awards in a half dozen categories. We cordially welcome and strongly encourage nominations from all collectors and dealers, said Brueggeman.

The award winners will be announced at the annual PNG Day banquet that will be held following the PNG/ANA Numismatic Trade Show in Denver Colorado on July 31, 2017. That is the eve of the American Numismatic Association’s World’s Fair of Money® convention in Denver, explained Samuelson.

Nominations should be made directly to the appropriate award category chair by mid-June. The categories and contacts are:

Abe Kosoff Founders Award:

Presented to a PNG member-dealer with steadfast dedication to the entire numismatic community and who has made a significant contribution to the Guild or to the numismatic fraternity in general the past year. The award is named after PNG’s Founding President who spearheaded the 1953 launch of the organization. Committee Chairs: Richard Weaver and Wayde Milas. Emails: and

Art Kagin Ambassador Award:

This award is named after a former PNG President and nationally-known Iowa dealer who provided distinguished service as an advocate of numismatic goodwill. Committee Chair: John Maben. Email:

Significant Contribution Award:

Given to those who have made exceptional, beneficial efforts over the years on behalf of PNG and the profession, and added to the hobby. Committee Chair: James Sego. Email:

Lifetime Achievement Award:

Presented to a numismatist for his/her extraordinary devotion to numismatics and who, over their lifetime, significantly contributed to the hobby or profession. Committee Co-Chairs: Dana S. Samuelson and Barry Stuppler. Emails: and

Sol Kaplan Award:

To recognize efforts and contributions in combatting crimes against the numismatic community, this award is presented to someone who has given their time in an attempt to rid the profession of fraud and thievery. The award is jointly presented by the PNG and the Lewis M. Reagan Foundation. It is named after a former PNG President and Ohio dealer who was personally responsible for the apprehension of several people suspected of committing numismatic-related crimes. Committee Chair: Robert Brueggeman. Email:

Robert Friedberg Award:

Presented to an author in recognition for an outstanding book or other literature. Named in honor of a publisher and author of numismatic reference books, this award is not automatically given each year. It is only given when there is deemed to be a worthy recipient or recipients. Committee Chair: James A. Simek. Email: Note: A copy of each book nominated for this year’s award must be submitted for delivery no later than June 16, 2017 to James A. Simek, P.O. Box 7157, Westchester, IL 60154-7157.

The Professional Numismatists Guild is a nonprofit trade association composed of the country’s top rare coin and paper money dealers who must adhere to a strict Code of Ethics in the buying and selling of numismatic merchandise. For additional information about the PNG awards, contact Robert Brueggeman, PNG Executive Director, 28441 Rancho California Road, Suite 106, Temecula, CA 92590. Phone: (951) 587-8300. Email: Online:

Visit these great CDN Sponsors

Leave a comment

Please sign in or register to leave a comment.

Your identity will be restricted to first name/last initial, or a user ID you create.


  • avatar image
    No Comments

    You can be the first person to comment on this story!