Back button

Banknote Book & CPG® PRICE GUIDE

About Saar

As part of the Treaty of Versailles—signed on 28 June 1919—which ended the state of war between Germany and the Allied Powers, Germany lost its overseas colonies as well as a significant portion of its European territory. The Saar (German: Saarland; French: Sarre)—named after the Saar River—had been part of the German Empire since the Franco-Prussian War of 1870/71, but did not exist as a unified entity until its creation as the Territory of the Saar Basin (formed from southern parts of the German Rhine Province and western parts of the Bavarian Palatinate) by the League of Nations after World War I. Prior to this, some parts of the current entity were Prussian and other parts Bavarian.

World Currency / Saar
Mines Domaniales de la Sarre

Visit these great CDN Sponsors

CDN Sponsors

Related Stories (powered by Greysheet News)

View all news