Banknote Book & CPG® PRICE GUIDE

Greysheet Catalog Details
Founded as the Bank of Western India in Bombay (now Mumbai) in 1842, the bank moved its headquarters to London and was renamed the Oriental Bank in 1845, and opened branches in Colombo (1843), Calcutta (1844), Shanghai (1845), Canton (1845), Singapore (1846), and Hong Kong (14.04.1846). The Oriental Bank acquired the failing Bank of Ceylon in 1850, and was granted a royal charter for the merged institution on 30 August 1851 as the Oriental Bank Corporation (OBC). See Hong Kong chapter for other Oriental Bank Corporation issues.

Catalog Detail

Sort by